License by Mail
Encloses a Rabies Certificate, and your check payable to the City and mail to:
City of Fremont
P.O. Box 5006
Fremont, CA 94537-5006
License at Shelter
Come to the shelter during licensing hours:
Tuesday - Friday
9 a.m. - Noon and 1:30 - 4 p.m.
You do not need to bring your pet. Bring with you:
- A current rabies certificate.
- Payment - the shelter accepts cash, check, Visa, Mastercard and Discover cards.
If you are a City of Fremont resident, your dog or cat is required to be licensed within 30 days of:
- Acquiring a cat or dog that is over four months old.
- A cat or dog turning four months old.
- Moving to Fremont with a cat or dog.
- The expiration of a pet license.
There is a $10 penalty charged if cats and dogs are not licensed within these time frames.
Veterinarians are required by City Ordinance to report rabies vaccinations to the City Licensing Authority. Pet owners are required to update the licensing department if the animal is deceased, lost, given away, or no longer in Fremont. Failure to license will result in citations.
If your veterinarian determines your pet should not receive a rabies vaccination for medical reasons, documentation is required and you must still license the pet.
|Duration||Unaltered Pet||Altered Pet|
Proof of spay or neuter is required to receive the discount. Pet owners presenting a receipt from a veterinarian clinic or municipal animal shelter for prepayment of a spay or neuter operation for their pet will be allowed to purchase a one year license at the spay/neuter rate. Senior citizens 60 and over, providing proof of age, receive a 10% discount on a one, two, or three year license. Pet owners presenting evidence of qualification for the CARE Program or California LifeLine Service are eligible for free pet licenses as long as the pet is spayed or neutered.
California law requires the rabies vaccination to be effective during the entire licensing period. Puppies' and kittens' first rabies vaccination is good for one year only. Therefore, your puppy's or kitten's first license will be issued for one year only.
License fees are not pro-rated regardless of the month acquired. Two or three year pet licenses are purchased by pet owners at a reduced fee at their option and, therefore, are not refundable in whole or in part, nor will credit be allowed toward licenses for other pets. A current pet license from another jurisdiction in California may be transferred to Fremont for a $6 fee.